Legal basis

Equality under the Law - but not yet fully implemented

Since 1981, equality of women and men is firmly anchored in the Federal Constitution. In 1996, the Federal Law on Equality between Men and Women came into force. The Constitution of the Canton of Zurich also determines equality:

Men and Women enjoy equal rights. They are entitled to the same access to education, offices, training and to equal pay for equal work. The Canton and municipalities promote factual equality of Men and Women in all areas of life.

Article 11 (3), Constitution of the Canton of Zurich (unofficial translation).

In fact, however, in the Canton of Zurich, equality has not yet been realised, with negative consequences for society and the economy. This is the reason for the very existence of the Canton of Zurich's Office for the Equality of Men and Women. As a public institution, its mandate is to promote equality in all areas of life.

Fondement juridique

L'égalité hommes-femmes est prévue par la loi mais n'est pas encore appliquée

Depuis 1981, l'égalité en droits des des femmes et hommes est ancrée dans la Constitution fédérale. La loi fédérale sur l'égalité femmes-hommes est en vigueur depuis 1996. La constitution du canton de Zurich définit également la parité :

L'homme et la femme sont égaux en droits. Ils ont le droit d'accéder aux mêmes établissements de formation et offices, à la même formation et au même salaire pour un travail équivalent. Le canton et les communes encouragent la mise en œuvre effective de l'égalité femmes-hommes dans tous les milieux.

Article 11 alinéa 3 de la constitution du canton de Zurich

Mais aujourd'hui encore, l'égalité femmes-hommes n'est pas encore une réalité dans le canton de Zurich. Cela a des conséquences négatives pour la société et l'économie. C'est pour cette raison qu'existe le Service de l'égalité femmes-hommes du canton de Zurich. En tant qu'institution publique, il a pour tâche de promouvoir l'égalité dans tous les milieux.